All the awesomeness of Cooperstown, at your fingertips. Search here…

The Glimmerglass Festival Presents: The Magic Flute

A new adaption of Mozart's classic Enlightenment tale takes its inspiration, in part, from the magical qualities of an unspoiled natural landscape.

"As a Mohegan and descendant of Chief Uncas, I am honored to have the opportunity to direct in a town and festival so closely associated with the words of James Fenimore Cooper, who famously fictionalized Uncas as the last," director Madeline Sayet said. "What other lasts might be undone by removing the artificial barriers of myth and reality? Our Magic Flute is not a journey to a fantastical other world, but a way of looking more deeply into the real place we live in, the woods around Glimmerglass, if you only open your eyes wide enough."

New English adaptation by Kelley Rourke.

Photos: Karli Cadel/The Glimmerglass Festival

The Glimmerglass Festival Presents: The Magic Flute
General Information:
7300 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY13326
Friday, July 10, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Saturday, July 25, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Sunday, August 2, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Sunday, August 23, 2015
Performance times vary by day, please visit website